Skip to content
March 15, 2011 / Man in the Mirror

3 Ways to Make Peace With Where You Are (Wherever That Is)

Feeling at peace with wherever I am is something I learned in the sisterhood.  And even though it took decades, it made all the difference in my world.  It was never hard to be at peace when times were good, that was easy; hard times not so much.  This is how I learned to make peace with where I am.
Count Your Blessings
In the very worst of times, I get by with a little help from my friends and family.  Solitude became my soulmate and bubble baths never fail to wash away the gris-gris of the day.  Writing always helps make peace with where I am.  Putting misery on paper takes away its power to destroy me, and oftentimes makes me laugh.  Whenever I begin to count my blessings, I automatically feel more peaceful than miserable.
Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark
In the very worst of times, I learned to trust that everything happening was holy and I was exactly where I was meant to be.  I learned to see in the dark.  What did I see?  Appearances are not reality.  Endings are the divine stuff of new beginnings.  Nightmares turn into dreams-come-true.  Misery won’t kill me.  And I am never alone.  In the darkest of times I found myself lifted up and carried through by angels, spirit guides, and loved ones.  None of us are as ever alone as we feel.  Angels and holy spirits surround us.
Make Peace with Where Everyone Is (Not Just You)
In making peace with where I was, I learned to make peace with where everyone was, especially those who made me miserable.  Not blaming anyone for our misery is the key to making peace.  Let them be.  Be content with the way things are because the sun always rises after the darkest of nights, and peace makes good things happen.  According to the spirit guide Abraham:  “You are just a few laughs away…just a few kisses away… just a little bit of relief away from letting a whole lot of good stuff in.”  Amen.
Until next week, I pray:  “Deep peace of the running waves to you.  Deep peace of the flowing air to you.  Deep peace of the quiet earth to you.  Deep peace of the shining stars to you.  Deep peace of the gentle night to you.  Moon and stars pour their healing light on you.  Deep peace to you.”  –– A Gaelic Blessing
Karol Jackowski, Ph.D., became a nun in 1964. She’s also been a college administrator, graduate of New York University, manager of a toy store, author of eight books, painter of religious folk art, and sister to everyone she meets. Please visit her website at KarolJackowski.com.

Leave a Reply

