Skip to content
February 28, 2013 / Man in the Mirror

Wonderful blog!

Love, InshAllah

Kulsoom Abdullah

Last year, I was invited to an interfaith banquet to be recognized for my efforts in weightlifting clothing accommodation.  Although I was busy with competitions and training, the organizers had supported me in the past and I wanted to support them in turn.

My friend Hiba accompanied me as my guest.  I wore a shalwar kameez with a hijab and Hiba wore a business suit.  A South Asian lady recognized me from a previous event I had spoken at and we began conversing.

“This is my friend, Hiba,” I told her.

“Your GIRLFRIEND?!” she exclaimed with a shocked look on her face.

“No, I said my FRIEND, Hiba,” I clarified.

Hiba is from Sudan, so in addition to thinking we were lesbians, the lady thought we were in an interracial relationship.  This made us laugh and joke throughout the banquet at the thought of this lady wiggling her brows like Bert…

View original post 709 more words

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Love, InshAllah / Feb 28 2013 6:49 pm

    Thank you for reading & sharing!

Leave a Reply

